Just a Friendly Reminder / Gluten Free Checklist

To all of us who have to take a gluten free diet seriously, I just wanted to share the friendly reminder that The Gluten Free Doctor has provided for us.

Here is a list of ingredients to AVOID at all costs!!!
  • Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Atta Flour- An Indian food-is actually another name for wheat
  • Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Barley Hordeum vulgare
  • Barley Malt
  • Beer (most contain barley or wheat). There are gluten free brands- Bards, Redbridge, New Grist, Greens etc.
  • Bleached Flour
  • Bran
  • bread Flour
  • Brown Flour- British for Whole Wheat flour
  • Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
  • Bulgur Wheat
  • Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
  • Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • cookie Crumbs- unless made from a gluten free cookie
  • Cookie Dough
  • Cookie Dough Pieces
  • Couscous
  • Crab Meat- Artificial- made with shredded fish and wheat flour
  • Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
  • Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
  • Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
  • Enriched Bleached Flour
  • Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
  • Enriched Flour
  • Farina
  • Farina Graham
  • Farro
  • Flour (normally this is wheat)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Germ
  • Graham Flour
  • Granary Flour
  • Groats (barley, oats, wheat)- Oats can be grown gluten-free and thus be safe but the packaging will state that and the cost will reflect it as well
  • Hard Wheat
  • Hordeum Vulgare Extract
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Kamut (pasta wheat)
  • Kecap Manis or Ketjap Manis- this is a type of thick Asian sweetened soy sauce
  • Kluski – a Polish noodle
  • Maida (Indian wheat flour)
  • Malt in all its forms- Flour, milk,extract, syrup, flavoring- unless specifically stated as corn or sorghum malt
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Matza or Matzah or Matzo- an unleavened wheat bread typically used during Passover.  There is a gluten freeoat matzo for use by observant Gluten-Free Jews for the holiday.
  • Matzo Semolina
  • Meripro 711 Check out the concern here, it typically is in European foods
  • Nishasta- Another Indian flour mixture- this one of cornstarch and wheat
  • Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
  • Orzo Pasta
  • Pasta
  • Pearl Barley
  • Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
  • Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
  • Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used as enzymes)
  • Roux- Flour and butter mixture used to thicken gumbos and creamy sauces
  • Rusk- a dry toast cracker
  • Rye
  • Seitan- this is a “meatless” meat that is almost completely wheat gluten
  • Semolina
  • Semolina Triticum
  • Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Soy Sauce- READ the labels! Most Soy sauce is made with wheat- La Choy brand has one that is gluten-free and Tamari sauce can be gluten free.  This is the most common source of gluten exposure for folks who are just going gluten free.
  • Small Spelt
  • Spelt (Triticum spelta)
  • Sprouted Wheat or Barley
  • Soba Noodles-made with a combination of Buckwheat (Gluten Free) and wheat flour.
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Strong Flour
  • Surimi- Artificial Crab meat- made from wheat flour and shredded fish
  • Tabbouleh or Tabouli
  • Teriyaki Sauce because it contains Soy Sauce.  For a gluten free version, try San-Ji’s or Organicville
  • Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached Flour
  • Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Vital Wheat Gluten
  • Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat Bran Extract
  • Wheat, Bulgur
  • Wheat Durum Triticum
  • Wheat Germ Extract
  • Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • Wheat Germ Oil
  • Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Wheat Nuts
  • Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Triticum aestivum
  • Wheat Triticum Monococcum
  • Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
  • Whole-meal Flour
  • Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
  • Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)
  • The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:
  • baking powder
  • food Starch or Food Starch Modified- if from Wheat but in the USA the label will state- Food Starch (wheat) or similar
  • Gravy Cubes- will state Wheat on the lable in the USA
  • Miso – possibly made with barley-
  • Vegetable Broth- watch for starch or sweeteners
  • vitamins- watch for starches or sweeteners
  • Wheat Starch
Check out The Gluten Free Doctors Site!!


Popular posts from this blog

Han Dynasty is a gluten free safe heaven!!

Family Reunion In Granville, Oh (Vega & Gluten-Free)

Gluten-Free and Vegan In Sri Lanka

Enjoy Life Products for the Win! (Top 8 Free)

My Favorite Vegan, Gluten-Free and Oil-Free Vegetable Burger

Quick and simple summer squash soup in a rice cooker! (Gluten-Free & Vegan)

Vientiane Cafe - Gluten Free and Vegan in West Philadelphia

Preserving Summer's Bounty

Work Lunches Allergy-Free (Vegan & Gluten-Free)

Vegan Carrot Pulp Tuna Salad (Gluten-Free, Oil-Free, Soy-Free, & Nut-Free)