Wegmans Gluten Free Sushi

In a recent trip to Wegmans, I noticed the gluten free soy sauce next to their pre-made sushi.  I got curious and emailed the company to find out if they had changed their sushi ingredients to now be gluten free. Below was my response:

"We will never be able to call any of our sushi Gluten Free as it is prepared in an open area. We currently have rolled out to the stores a Gluten Free Soy Sauce that will replace the current soy sauce packet in the packages. Once this happens, many of our sushi rolls will be gluten free by ingredient. 

The reason we have to call out the wheat on the packages of sushi which would normally be No Gluten Ingredients is that there is residue on the outside of the packets that may contain gluten (these come in a big case and one of the packets could break open and leak all over the case.)

By May 1st we will be switched over to the new packet when the older inventory runs out. In the meantime, you can have any of those rolls that are gluten free by ingredient made to order at the sushi counter."

I love Wegmans and all the strides they take to help those of us living allergy free lives!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Luhv Cafe - Vegan Bistro in Hatboro PA

Annual Family PSU Tailgating

Gluten Free Allergy Free Secaucus, NJ 2017 Expo Review

Han Dynasty is a gluten free safe heaven!!

Mom's Organic, Naked Lunch both Vegan and Gluten Free

La Colombe Philadelphia, PA

Vegan & Gluten-Free Jackfruit Tuna Salad

King Daddy's Chicken and Waffles, Asheville, NC Gluten-Free and Vegetarian Friendly

Vegan Gluten-Free Jackfruit Cubano

Making the Most of Your Blender Cooking Class with Mt. Airy Learning Tree